The Fly

It was a hot summer afternoon and the kids were playing in another room. My wife was getting supper ready and putting the food on the table. “Suppers ready,” my wife called out, and the kids came running. This is one time you never have to call children twice because they are always hungry. We each took our chair, sitting in our proper places. Holding each others hands, I prayed thanking God for all His many blessings. We were passing the plates of food around when my wife all of a sudden spoke,”Honey, there is a fly in the house. Get the fly swatter and kill that fly.” I said, “No, I won’t need the fly swatter.” Now this was many years ago and I don’t remember what prompted me to do what I did. I stuck my pointer finger straight out and said, “Fly, land,” and the fly came and lit right smack dab on that finger. I got up from the table, walked over to the screen door, opened it and said,”Go.” The fly flew outside, and I walked back to the table and sat down.

   My wife and kids were sitting there dumbfounded, with big eyes and open mouths. It’s a good thing there weren’t anymore flies in the house, because they would have drawn them in. I don’t know why the Lord did that, but it sure made an impression on our family, and helped build up my faith, as I was a new Christian in the walk with Christ. I’ve never forgotten those moments, knowing it was a special time in my life. I know it sounds crazy, but it is what it is. God has been good to me over the years, and He has demonstrated many things, and I just marvel at His love and mercy toward me and my family. Praise be to His glorious  and wonderful name. Be Blessed and Remain a Blessing.

 

Leave a Reply

