The Altar

When I was a small boy, I remember my daddy coming home and telling us that he gave his heart to Jesus. Every day after that, until the day he died, our home knew prayer every night together. When dad or mom  said it was bed time, we would all kneel at the living room couch and pray together. That was my first altar, and  thanks be to Jesus, it has not been my last. What- ever place I’m at, or church I’m in, there is an altar. If there isn’t one, I just bow my head and most of all my heart, and there I make it my altar.

  The last several years, I see the altars disappearing from the churches, and that puts a deep sorrow in my heart. Even when there is an altar, not many avail themselves of this wooden treasure. Is there dust upon the altar? I hope not, and the tears that were shed at an old fashion altar, are they missing now? Altars and God- given tears must not pass away, for it is one of the life lines of the church.

  One reason the altar is so dear to me, is when I had a vision of the altars filled with a great many souls, kneeling and crying out for salvation. I’ve kept that vision in my eyes and heart, for without a vision the people perish. I live and pray to see that day. Will you also take up the cause of Christ and believe for souls and an awakening of the church? Only believe and we can see the rising up of the church again.

Leave a Reply

